Mozak

Impossible to fix gaps, game undoes all my work

OK I’m new to this, so maybe I’m doing something wrong, but this is my experience so far:

- I look at the “consensus” view, and there’s an axon that looks clearly traced out, at low zoom levels, but shows up as “disconnected”. This is bad, the guide assures me.

- When I zoom in, I can see it’s actually made up of little fragments that don’t join together. OK, that’s obviously bad because it doesn’t actually show how the axons connect.

- I connect all the fragment together, making sure I stick to the axon, and using the “disconnected” view to make sure I haven’t missed any gaps. I take quite a lot of time at junctions to get things connected in the right configuration.

- The consensus view updates.

- Everything is broken into little bits again. There is the odd orange spot here and there but for the most part, all the connecting I did has vanished, and the puzzle looks no better than when I started.

I get that it might still be broken up from a “consensus” perspective, because maybe not enough people did the same traces as me in order for them to take effect. But why did you delete MY effort to fix it from MY version?

So… I could spend two hours re-doing my fixes to the existing traces. Only to have them vanish again next time the consensus updates. And then have to do them again. I don’t get why you expect me to solve the same, rather tedious problem multiple times. It doesn’t sound fun.

I honestly think you would have a better map of the axons if you just let each player make their own version and pick the best one. As I think most players would have actually bothered to connect stuff up. Whereas on the consensus version, in the “disconnected” mode, there is a little blue blob in a sea of red, despite me having, just mere hours ago, an almost completely connected map of the puzzle!